Looking for practice material?

Find thousands of archived packets FREE for study/practice use at the Quizbowl Packet Archive!Announced tournament dates

Vista

Discussion of non-quizbowl topics
Post Reply
East Buc & UMR
Posts: 5401
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Gower
Contact:

Vista

Post by East Buc & UMR » Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:44 pm

Anyone brave the "crowds" out today and pick up a copy.

User avatar
Jeffrey Hill
Posts: 6362
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: In between the bright lights and the far unlit unknown (aka Johnson County, KS)
Contact:

Vista

Post by Jeffrey Hill » Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:09 pm

No but if I have money when it comes out I'll probably upgrade to Leopard... I probably should up my RAM to 2 GB first... From what I've seen Vista is a large improvement over XP but that ultimately depends on incompatibility issues and how much more of a memory hog it is.

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:25 pm

no im waiting on my dad to get a free copy

KentB
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Creve Couer, MO
Contact:

Vista

Post by KentB » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:53 pm

i don´t plan on buying it ... but if i ever run across a copy, we´ll see if i deem it worthy to install

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:06 am

well ive been running the beta for a few months now and i love it. it doesn't crash like xp does. just im not sure if i can use the upgrade version since i don't have a valid xp key running...stupid microsoft

East Buc & UMR
Posts: 5401
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Gower
Contact:

Vista

Post by East Buc & UMR » Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:40 am

I don't know what you are running with XP but I've never had it crash before...

Desktop, 2 laptops and who knows how many School and work Pc's I've used(most of those using hardcore apps)

Blue screened once only because my desktop CD/RW drivers when I upgraded from ME to XP weren't meant for XP. Simple fix.... But really what are you doing on XP to crash it?

jcarkeys
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:00 am

Vista

Post by jcarkeys » Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:56 am

libertymark wrote: well ive been running the beta for a few months now and i love it. it doesn't crash like xp does. just im not sure if i can use the upgrade version since i don't have a valid xp key running...stupid microsoft
I've played with RC2 in a Virtual Machine a bit (so no aero) and it's interesting. Nothing that'd make me want to upgrade anytime soon. The upgraded security is of minimal value since I have a small Kubuntu box here running a NAT server and seriously have stuff locked down.

XP never crashes on me. I hung it up while trying to install an OS (I think it was Win 2000) in a virtual machine for testing, but other than that I've had it up this whole semester. That's really not that unusual.

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:48 pm

East Buc & UMR wrote: I don't know what you are running with XP but I've never had it crash before...

Desktop, 2 laptops and who knows how many School and work Pc's I've used(most of those using hardcore apps)

Blue screened once only because my desktop CD/RW drivers when I upgraded from ME to XP weren't meant for XP. Simple fix.... But really what are you doing on XP to crash it?
um i think it was the windows updates that got passed me and installed. mostly it was windows explorer.

User avatar
Jeffrey Hill
Posts: 6362
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: In between the bright lights and the far unlit unknown (aka Johnson County, KS)
Contact:

Vista

Post by Jeffrey Hill » Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:37 pm

I can't tell you how many times control-alt-delete, end non-responding program didn't work or took forever to do. Yes, my laptop is on the very slow end related to XP so that probably had a little bit to do with it.

In the 20 months I have had my iMac there have been maybe 5-10 total times I've gone to force quit a program and it takes longer than one or two seconds. I'd also say about 90%+ of any freezes or unexpected quits are Safari-related. Recently I have had a few more spinning beach ball of death hangs on my Mac but that's mainly when I have a whole bunch of programs open* but they aren't nearly as annoying as they were on Windows. And generally when one program hangs it doesn't affect any of the other programs; they might run just slightly slower while the other program figures out what it's doing but at least my whole computer isn't unusable for that time.

*Safari is a perpetual memory hog.... Right now it has 300 MB of my 1 GB...

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:43 pm

well ubuntu uses 44% of my cpu at all times

chad
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Fordland

Vista

Post by chad » Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:31 pm

My cousin bought a new Compaq with vista, it is pretty cool but the looks and the way it runs is much like XP. Not really much difference but I will eventually get one. I want the Bill Gates special edition but it is like 600 dollars or something ridiculous.

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Mon Feb 05, 2007 8:22 pm

chad wrote: I want the Bill Gates special edition but it is like 600 dollars or something ridiculous.
not really its more like 250 but its the upgrade only addition. the full version is 300 and the nonsignature is still 250.

chad
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Fordland

Vista

Post by chad » Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:05 pm

libertymark Posted on Feb 5 2007, 08:22 PM [not really its more like 250 but its the upgrade only addition. the full version is 300 and the nonsignature is still 250. ]

Your right, the Best Buy add was very misleading, thanks for the heads up.

libertymark
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:00 am
Location: in a college dorm, exciting eh?
Contact:

Vista

Post by libertymark » Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:00 pm

do they still have it, i looked earlier and couldn't find it

AShoaib
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:00 am

Vista

Post by AShoaib » Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:42 pm

I'll always have a soft for Vista... that was the answer to the first QuizBowl question I ever got in a competition....

The GUI looks nice.










:)

Post Reply